Jelly Belly jelly beans are a favorite springtime candy. But many chewy, gummy candies contain ingredients that aren’t acceptable to people following a vegetarian or vegan diet. If you want to abide by a true vegan lifestyle, it’s important to stay informed about everything that you eat. So, are Jelly Bellys vegan?
Are Jelly Bellys Vegan?
Jelly Bellys are not vegan because they are coated with beeswax and shellac to give them their appealing shine. Beeswax is an animal product, and most vegans avoid it because they believe that collecting beeswax from hives is cruel.
Shellac, on the other hand, is made from secreted beetle resin. When humans collect the resin, many female beetles die in the process. That’s why most vegans refuse to eat candies and other foods that use shellac, which is sometimes listed as “confectioner’s glaze” on ingredient lists.
Jelly Belly Ingredients:
- Corn Syrup
- Modified Food Starch
- Fruit Concentrate and Puree
- Chocolate Liquor
- Cocoa Butter
- Soy Lecithin
- Citric Acid
- Fumaric Acid
- Lactic Acid
- Malic Acid
- Phosphoric Acid
- Ascorbic Acid
- Sodium Lactact
- Sodium Citrate
- Cocoa Powder
- Natural and Artifical Flavors
- Color Added
- Tapioca Dextrin
- Vanilla Beans
- Carnauba Wax
- Confectioner’s Glaze
Vegan Jelly Belly Alternatives
If you’re a fan of Jelly Belly candies and are looking for some vegan Jelly Belly alternatives, you’ll be glad to hear that there are a number of similar candies that don’t use animal by-products.
1. Jolly Rancher’s Jelly Beans
While Jelly Belly jelly beans may not pass the vegan test, the Jolly Rancher brand beans are actually vegan. The original flavors include strawberry, orange, blue raspberry, grape, watermelon, and apple, and these candies don’t include ingredients like gelatin, beeswax, or shellac.
2. Warheads Sour Jelly Beans
If you’re not afraid to pucker up with every bite, these Warheads candies are a great alternative to Jelly Bellys. The short ingredient list simply consists of sugar, glucose syrup, modified corn starch, fumaric acid, citric acid, natural and artificial flavors, and vegan-approved food coloring. These candies come in six, mouth-watering flavors, including orange, watermelon, lemon, blue raspberry, cherry, and green apple.
3. Wonka Nerds Bumpy Jelly Beans
These jelly beans come coated in a crunchy candy shell, but unlike Jelly Bellys, that shell isn’t made out of animal by-products. Inside, the chewy, fruity filling will be one of five flavors: grape, watermelon, strawberry, lemon, or orange.
If you’re looking for a twist on the traditional jelly bean, you can’t go wrong with this delightful candy from Wonka.
4. YumEarth Naturals Sour Jelly Beans
These delicious jelly beans from YumEarth are made from all-natural ingredients and real fruit juice. They even have 100% of your daily dose of Vitamin C, so you can feel good when indulging in your favorite treat. Pick up some of these delicious beans here.
5. VeganSweets Jelly Beans
Some major candy companies make candies that happen to pass the vegan test, but it’s always nice to support companies that strive to make vegan-friendly food all the time. These VeganSweets jelly beans are made without any animal by-products like gelatin or beeswax, and they’re just as good as Jelly Belly beans.
If you love Jelly Bellys but are committed to a vegan lifestyle, don’t fret. You have a wide variety of alternatives to choose from, from super sour Warheads to classic VeganSweets.
Do you have a favorite brand of vegan jelly beans? Leave us a comment and tell us all about it! Make sure to check out our favorite vegan dark chocolate and vegan oreo guide too!